Home > peace corps > Life… and stuff

Life… and stuff

So lets talk about the reasons why I decided to join the Peace Corps. I wanted to do something different with my life. Everyone wants to be different and talks about it, but they never really make any decisions that impact that claim. It really just remains a claim. I needed to leave San Diego, and in many ways, the life and culture behind. There are many times when I just feel like I belong in a different time. When people believe in themselves and their words, and stuck to them. I needed a change in scenery, to see that it was possible that people lead their lives with different attitudes towards themselves and to each other, and how they went about pursuing this. Admittedly, that is all a bit far fetched, and I am here with other people from the US who really are not all that different from the culture I left behind. I just continue to get caught up with it though, and I really need to strive to see things differently and learn on my own to be part of that change. I wanted to come here and help people, and give them a chance to learn things from someone who wanted to be patient with them like I have been lucky to have in my life. Give where others have been so kind to give to me. This whole experience will include a lot of learning for me, and I need to remain open to embrace it, because really this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I am loving it so far. In reality I can do so much more though.

On a final note… I need to remember to trust my instincts a lot more, and with that, believe in myself and have confidence in myself and my own decisions, instead of letting others make them for me. Tough times dont last, tough people do.

Categories: peace corps
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

