Home > peace corps > Update for Everyone

Update for Everyone

Hello All,

Right now I am in training in a small village outside of the town Traing. We study Khmer for four hours every morning and then go back to my host families house for lunch. We then meet back up for teaching training, which i find to be quite boring. Usually after that we head back home and eat dinner with our families. My village is very quaint and does not have the amenities that our other half of our group has. We have no internet nor do we have a fancy gas station where we can drink beers with air conditioning. I rode my bike half way to the other village and rode a taxi (tuk-tuk) to visit with my other volunteer trainees, hence the internet.

My host family is a group of farmers. The mom always stares at me like she is worried i dont eat enough, but the dad and i seem to get along well. There are three young boys that i live in the house with. two of them are grandchildren and one of them is a son. i mess with those boys like they are my own siblings and even though i cant speak the language very well, we still get by on the unspoken communication. I have my own room in the house and sleep on the floor, which means a bamboo straw mat and a mattress pad type thing. Aphids and fleas are constant visitors underneath my mosquito net.

We recently got our bikes and it has made transportation much easier. I live off the main road and everything is about a ten minute or so ride from my house. There are cows, chickens, dogs, cats, but luckily no rats that i have seen so far. my host family are good people but we do not get along as great as i would like, but its only temporary and i am hopefull for a better arrangement at my next house. I love you all and will be in touch as soon as possible. I am a day ahead so plus fourteen hours for anyone who chooses to call me.

room

Categories: peace corps
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

